California Labor Code Section 2810.5 takes effect July 1, 2015 and requires all employers in California to grant to all non-exempt employees who have worked for more than 30 days in any calendar year to paid sick days. The law requires that employees must accrue paid sick leave at no less than one hour per thirty hours worked. Employers may limit the use of paid sick leave to 24 hours or three eight hour work days thus capping the number of paid sick days to three although the accrual for an employee could be more. Employers are required to post in a conspicuous area a poster notifying employees of their right to the paid sick leave. It would be well advised for employers to amend their employee policy handbooks to limit the paid sick leave to three days if they intend to do so.
SERVING CLIENTS THROUGHOUT CALIFORNIA | Call For FREE Consultation: