1. What is a Preliminary or 20 Day Preliminary Notice?

    The Preliminary or 20 Day Preliminary Notice is a form that is served or given within 20 days of a claimant, other than the Direct Contractor, providing labor or materials to the private works Project.  Civil Code Section 8204 provides: "(a) A preliminary notice shall be given not later than 20 day…Read More

  2. Mechanic’s Liens

    The CSLB says a mechanic's lien is: A "hold" against your property, filed by an unpaid contractor, subcontractor, laborer, or material supplier, and is recorded with the county recorder's office. If unpaid, it allows a foreclosure action, forcing the sale of the property in lieu of compensation. ht…Read More

  3. CSLB New Fee Schedule for 2022

    CSLB Announces New Fee Schedule for 2022 The Contractors State License Board (CSLB), which is funded entirely by license fees, protects consumers and supports the California construction industry by licensing contractors, providing resources for licensees, enforcing contractor laws, and educating co…Read More

  4. Voted top Anaheim Construction Firm

    Voted one of best business - Construction Firm in Anaheim.  Thanks for your confidence. https://legaldirectorate.com/report/business-corporate-attorneys/near_anaheim-orange-county,ca/…Read More

  5. What Terms Should Your Home Remodel Construction Contract Contain?

    The requirements of what must be contained in a home remodel contract are specified in Business and Professions Code Section 7159.  https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=7159. The CSLB has a sample contract that can be reviewed to determine …Read More

  6. Construction Defects – Time to File A Lawsuit

    Owners often believe that because work was done on their project a year or more ago they have no write to file suit against a contractor when the work proves to be defective.  However, a lawsuit on the written contract can be filed up to 4 years after the contract was entered into.  Further, the s…Read More

  7. Contractors Don’t Hire Unlicensed Subcontractors

    So many client's of ours end up in trouble because they hire unlicensed subcontractors.  They tell me I've used the guy a hundred times and his work is always good.  He's cheaper than the other subs and does great work.  But, Contracting with an unlicensed person violates the California Licensing…Read More

  8. Don’t Let Unlicensed Contractors Work on Your Project

    If you are an owner and contracting for work on your property the first thing you should do when interviewing prospective contractors is check the CSLB web site to determine if the contractor is licensed by the California State Contractors Board.  Go to: https://www.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/Check…Read More

  9. Contractors Must Pull Permits

    Contractors and homeowners beware, failing to pull permits is a mistake! Contractors under the Contractor's State Licensing Law in California are required to pull permits on every project that a permit is required on.  The Business and Professions Code governing contractors in California at Section…Read More